Board Members

Rick Caulfield, Vice Chair

Dr. Richard Caulfield serves as Chancellor at the University of Alaska Southeast, providing strategic leadership in fulfilling UAS’ mission, including budget development, academic planning and program assessments, student and enrollment services, administrative services, and community relations. Within the University of Alaska Statewide system he has been a leader in advancing innovations in teacher education, Arctic social sciences, higher education leadership, Alaska Native and minority student education, and online programs.  Caulfield’s extensive university career includes teaching, research, and service that led to tenure and promotion to the rank of full professor at UAF. He served as a department chair, academic program leader, campus director and dean. He took the position of UAS Provost in 2010, and as Chancellor in 2015. 

Mayor Ken Koelsch

Mayor Ken Koelsch grew up on a farm in Michigan and learned the value of hard work at an early age.  After graduating from college, he applied for a teaching job in Juneau, and in 1968 was hired by Bill Overstreet – who was school superintendent before he became Mayor.  In addition to teaching English, history and government classes at JDHS, he produced and directed the annual school musicals and advised the student councils, interacting with hundreds of students over the years.  He also served as Port Director for US Customs and Border Protection for 18 years.  Mayor Koelsch and his wife, Marian, have two grown children and three grandchildren.  He was elected Mayor in March, 2016.

Steve Ricci

Steve Ricci moved to Juneau fifteen years ago to serve as an Americorps member working with at-risk youth throughout SE Alaska.  He holds a bachelor’s degree in Economics and a certificate in diesel technology from the University of Southeast Alaska.  Since graduation Steve has worked for the State Legislature, Governor’s Office, and owned and operated a commercial fishing vessel for seven years.  Currently, he is the terminal manager for Delta Western Petroleum, overseeing the daily operations of a bulk fuel facility in Juneau.  Steve is frequently seen walking his Newfoundland dog Argo on Sandy beach with his wife Emily.  

Alec Mesdag

Alec Mesdag grew up in Juneau and holds a degree in environmental science from Oregon State University.  Prior to returning to Juneau in 2012, he worked as a project manager for a large electrical contractor in Portland, OR, managing healthcare, high tech, and solar construction projects, as well as developing non-regulated energy projects for tax equity investors.  As vice president and director of energy services at AEL&P, Alec works to influence how customers consume energy in order to maximize the value of electric infrastructure. Alec serves as the Co-Chair of JEDC’s Renewable Energy Cluster Working Group, focused on finding applications of renewable energy in our region’s economy. He spends his time away from work explaining how he is related to the other Mesdags in town.

Marc Wheeler

Marc Wheeler is the co-owner of Coppa, with his wife, Jessica Paris. Marc is father to Celia (13) and Ferguson (9). Marc formerly served for five years on the Juneau Assembly and directed the Big Brothers Big Sisters program across Southeast Alaska for seven years. Marc won the AEDC Pitch on a Train competition in 2014 and Coppa was the winner of the 2015 Path to Prosperity People's Choice award.

Nadine Lefebvre

Nadine Lefebvre is employed by the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development at the Juneau Job Center. As a state employee in classified service, she is a member of the Alaska State Employees Association, the largest union in Alaska. Nadine is the Southeast Representative to the ASEA Executive Board, serves on: the ASEA Women's Issues Committee, the Contract Negotiating Committee, the Political Action Committee. Nadine is currently President of the Juneau Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO and represents Organized Labor on the Juneau Economic Development Council and the Alaska Development Corporation.

Beth Weldon - Mayor’s Alternate/Assembly Liaison

Beth Weldon is a lifelong Juneau resident and fourth generation Douglasite. She graduated from JDHS and University of Washington, and owned and operated the gillnetter F/V Seven C’s.  She started with Capital City Fire/ Rescue as a volunteer in the Douglas fire district and became part of the paid staff in 1992. She was the first female officer in the department and retired as a Division Chief.  Weldon and her husband recently celebrated their 20th anniversary and have two very active teenage sons.  Weldon was elected to the Assembly in October, 2016.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS (Information from the JEDC Bylaws)

Section 1. The affairs of the JEDC shall be managed by its Board of Directors.

Section 2. Board of Directors.

A. The Board of Directors of the JEDC shall consist of eleven (11) members.

B. The eleven (11) members of the JEDC Board of Directors shall be comprised as follows:

  • i. The mayor of the City and Borough of Juneau or the mayor's designee from the CBJ Assembly;
    ii. The Chancellor of University of Alaska Southeast or the Chancellor's designee from UAS;
    iii. One member appointed by the CBJ Assembly representing organized labor;
    iv. One member appointed by the CBJ Assembly representing a nonprofit environmental organization;
    v. Seven (7) members appointed by the CBJ Assembly based upon their experience and expertise in fields relating to economic development, including but not limited to large and small business, entrepreneurship, natural resource development, tourism, banking and finance, engineering and construction, and government.

C. The term of each member of the JEDC Board of Director shall be staggered three (3) years.

D. No Director, except the Mayor and the Chancellor of UAS who hold permanent seats, may serve for more than two (2) consecutive terms.

E. The JEDC shall publish notice of vacancies on the JEDC Board of Directors. The JEDC Board or a recruitment committee will review and may interview candidates for the JEDC Board of Directors. The JEDC Board will forward the names of recommended candidates to the CBJ Assembly. The CBJ Assembly will appoint JEDC board members.