2018 Inductees for the SCoR Alaska Innovators Hall of Fame Selected

Wed, 02/14/2018

The Juneau Economic Development Council is pleased to join the Alaska State Committee for Research (SCoR) in announcing the 2018 inductees for the SCoR Alaska Innovators Hall of Fame.

SCoR created the Alaska Innovators Hall of Fame in 2014 to celebrate and honor outstanding individuals who put Alaska on the map as leaders in innovation and who contribute to Alaska’s growing culture of innovation.

We wish to offer our congratulations to this year’s inductees. Kelly L. Drew, Ph.D., discovered receptors that regulate the onset of hibernation and now builds on that knowledge to purse a medical solution for human victims of stroke, cardiac arrest and spinal-cord injury. Patricia S. Holloway, Ph.D., was the first to recognize the commercial opportunities of the peony industry in Alaska. Eric A. Swanson is the co- inventor of optical coherence tomography and is recognized for his experimental, translational, and industrial contributions. The fourth inductee is the traditional Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian wood halibut hook which is a sophisticated and innovative piece of technology unlike any other fish hook. The Sealaska Heritage Institute will accept the halibut hook induction on behalf of the Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian people.

The SCoR Alaska Innovators Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place at the Alaska Innovation Summit held in Juneau on February 21-22, 2018 at Centennial Hall. The ceremony is open to the public at 4:15PM on February 21. For more information on the Innovation Summit, please visit http://www.jedc.org/innovation/ or contact Dana Herndon at dherndon@jedc.org or (907) 523-2324.