Municipal Government

Alaska organizes municipalities in boroughs rather than counties, and there are 16 boroughs in the state. Some boroughs are "unified" with a city to form a single municipal government, which simplifies the administration of such things as building permits, utilities, and property taxes.

The City of Juneau was incorporated as a home-rule city shortly after statehood in 1960, and the Greater Juneau Borough was incorporated as a first class borough in 1963. The two government structures were unified in 1970 as the City and Borough of Juneau (CBJ).

Alaska has no state sales tax, allowing each borough or municipality to establish its own (or none). Juneau's sales tax is set at 5%.

The City and Borough of Juneau has a "strong manager" form of government and a nine-member Assembly, including the Mayor, who serves as presiding officer. The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day management of city operations.

Juneau is divided into two districts, each of which elects three seats on the Assembly, and there are two at-large seats. District 1 encompasses downtown Juneau, Thane Road, Salmon Creek, Switzer Creek, Juneau International Airport and Douglas Island. District 2 encompasses the Mendenhall Valley, Auke Bay, Fritz Cove, Tee Harbor, and Lynn Canal (known locally as "out the road").

Below is a list of the local districts that make up the City and Borough of Juneau and each district's Assembly members as defined by the Assembly and elected by the people of Juneau.


Merril Sanford

Areawide Assembly Members

  • Carlton Smith
  • Johan Dybdahl

District 1:

Downtown Juneau
Salmon Creek
Lemon Creek
Switzer Creek
Juneau International Airport
Douglas Island

District 1 Assembly Members

  • Mary Becker
  • Jesse Kiehl 
  • Loren Jones

District 2

Mendenhall Valley
Auke Bay
Fritz Cove
Lynn Canal
Tee Harbor

District 2 Assembly Members

  • Randy Wanamaker
  • Karen Crane
  • Jerry Nankervis

State / National Government

Juneau has two representatives and one senator in the Alaska Legislature.

  • Senator Dennis Egan (D)
  • Representative Beth Kerttula (D)
  • Representative Cathy Muñoz (R)

Alaska's governor is Sean Parnell (R).

At the national level Alaska is representated by two senators and one representative:

  • Senator Mark Begich (D)
  • Sentor Lisa Murkowski (R)
  • Representative Don Young (R)

Tlingit and Haida Government

The Central Council of the Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska (CCTHITA) is the tribal government representing approximately 26,000 Tlingit and Haida Indians worldwide. The Council is a sovereign entity and has a government-to-government relationship with the United States. The Council has its headquarters in Juneau. For more information please go to their website at:

Government Resources