Innovation Shorts

Engage your peers around
forward-thinking topics and
endeavors that are contributing to Localization in a Global Economy.


The Innovation Summit is welcome to all ideas that move Alaska (and our neighbors in the Yukon) towards innovative initiatives. Each year the conference selects a theme to tie ideas together. This year’s theme is Localization in a Global Economy.

We will explore ideas around how a strong local economy can enhance community resiliency, while still participating as both a consumer and producer in a global market. Within this, we will encourage conversations about the important role that diverse local economies can play in creating better solutions for local and global challenges.

Innovation Shorts Presenters

Presenters will showcase original ideas at this year’s Summit with 10-minute Innovation Shorts presentations. The Innovation Shorts offer conference attendees a glimpse into a host of smaller topics that encompass the larger conference theme.

Each short is just enough time to peak the attention of the audience. Innovation Shorts  will also explore new ideas or innovations relevant to the Alaska and Yukon economy.


Thomas Barr

Vice President of Business Development, Local First Arizona

Ben Sanders

CEO & Founder, Proof

Emily Bell

Managing Director, Local First

Ralph Wolfe

Program Director, Sustainable Southeast Partnership

Ky Holland

Partner, Alyeska Venture Management

Dr. Peter Webley

Deputy Director, Office of Intellectual Property and Commercialization, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Jim Coates

Founder and Lead Developer, Kryotek Arctic Innovation

Katie Ashbaugh

BuyAlaska Program Manager, Alaska Small Business Development Center

Ailis Vann

Executive Director, Greater Palmer Chamber of Commerce

Sara Buie

Owner & Co-Founder, Alaska Ruff

Tyler Ibrahim


Clay Good

Sustainable Southeast Partnership

Jim Powell, PhD

Assistant Research Professor, University of Alaska Southeast

Michelle Wilber

Research Engineer at University of Alaska Fairbanks’ Alaska Center for Energy and Power

Tim Leach

Principal at SparkBox LLC, Adjunct Faculty at Alaska Center for Energy and Power

Bob Christensen

Sustainable Southeast Partnership

Shelagh Rowles

Executive Director, Continuing Studies, Yukon University

Jennifer Nu

Sustainable Southeast Partnership

Aimee Hassell

Tiny Haven LLC

Jacqueline Summers

Managing Director, Health TIE

Rachel McCrickard

CEO, Motivo

Jennifer Nu

Sustainable Southeast Partnership

Bill Leighty

Director, The Leighty Foundation

Ryan Witten

Program Manager, Alaska Seeds of Change & Alaska Behavioral Health

Guy Archibald

Scientist, Friends of Admiralty Island

Matthew Bates

Owner, Alaska Artisan Meats

Robert Varness

President and General Manager, Tongass Rain Electric Cruise LLC

Scott Bell

Co-Manager, Alaska Angel Conference

Margi Dashevsky

Regenerative Economies Coordinator, Fairbanks Climate Action Coalition

Melanie Lucas-Conwell

Portfolio Manager, 49th State Angel Fund

Shaina Kilcoyne

Energy and Sustainability Manager, Municipality of Anchorage Solid Waste Services